A blog award – thankyou!

To finish the year, I have been nominated to receive the Very Inspiring Blogger Award

very-inspiring-blogger-award1

I have The Cooking Chook, a fellow Aussie, foodie and definitely inspiring blogger herself, to thank for this lovely moment of feel goodyness. So thankyou very much  Chookie! I feel a bit humble that people actually want to read my little bits & peices, but to recieve a blogging community award makes me feel a bit chuffed and definitely inspires me to keep going.

Now, in the spirit of this award, I must:

  • tell you 7 things about myself and
  • nominate other inspiring bloggers to receive this award
  • and of course, post the award on my blog and thank the person who nominated me.

So, 7 things about me (this is hard by the way):

  1. Although I am Australian, I spent several years of my childhood living in Asia, an experience which has had a major impact on my life. I am often grateful that I had that opportunity and despite the difficulties of moving around and changing schools, I would never wish to have given up that experience.
  2. I’m a nailbiter. This goes way back to my childhood, further than I can remember. I’m in two minds about this – at one stage I got hypnotherapy to stop, because my young daughter started copying me. It worked, I stopped, she stopped, but then over the years I started it up again. I think it was when I went to uni as a mature age student. It would be nice to stop again, I might try.
  3. I don’t like shopping. Well not very often anyway. About twice a year I might be in the mood & go out & get a pile of stuff, but most of the time I just don’t like it. Its definitely not on my to-do list when I travel or go on holidays.
  4. I don’t like soft drinks. I never really have, even as a kid. I used to complain that the bubbles hurt my throat – weird kid I know, but that definitely hasn’t stopped me loving champagne now.
  5. I sleep-walk, sleep-talk and have the craziest dreams ever, which I often remember and recount to TC. Thankfully I haven’t walked in my sleep for a few years (as far as I know) but TC tells me I still talk a lot. Thank goodness he is pretty much deaf! One of my daughters inherited this trait and I used to live in fear that she would let her self out of the house at night & go wandering.
  6. I am both a cat-person and a dog-person. I love both these kinds of pets and would happily have either. We currently have a beautiful black pussycat with a personality all her own, who lives back in Australia with family until we get back. If they don’t kill her first.
  7. I’ve always wanted to learn how to sing. I love to sing but am very bad at it – seriously bad – I insist on miming whenever I’m expected to sing in a group. Although, I do sing happy birthdays in family gatherings with gusto, they probably all hate me for that! I must remember to put this higher on my to-do list.

And now, the bloggers that I have found inspiring lately and would like to nominate to receive The Inspiring Blogger Award are:

The Drunken Cyclist – cycles and not only drinks, but knows a lot about, wine. What more do you need.

Three Hundred Sixty Five – I love the idea and the dedication in writing a post a day for a year. Not to mention I love her writing.

Jennovafoodblog – This active lady used her knowledge of nutrition to try to make the world a better place

Sightsbitsandbites – a ‘returning cook’ like me, finding their way back into the kitchen

Mayasingredients – makes food lovers drool

Alex’s Cycle – all about his cycle touring, love reading about this definitely getting ideas

Shebicycles – more lovely women on bikes, and with beautiful bike photos

I have stopped at 7 nominations because in my blog reading, I came across some awardees with instructions to nominate 7, and some with instructions to nominate 15 other bloggers. Unfortunately because of time constraints (I now have to go & pack a bag for our New Years trip to Nice) and I won’t be back online until later in the week, I am going to go with the 7+7 set of rules for this one (7 things about me, 7 new nominations).

If you are having a celebration tomorrow, then I hope its a good one and you have a lot of fun. See you all in the new year!!

4 comments

  1. New Years trip to Nice?! Are you kidding me? I am so incredibly jealous!!!! Have a wonderful time, and catch you in the new year 🙂 I hope you have the chance to take some wonderful pcs to share with your Francophile followers, i.e. me 😉

    1. LOL, I certainly will take pics. We’ve been to Nice before but we are meeting friends from Aus who fly in today. Just about to head off for the 4hrs drive – and the weather is beautiful & sunny!

      Happy New Year!

Leave a comment