Kaled it…

Kale chips

Thought I’d better find out what all the fuss was about kale chips (crisps). So now I know – delicious!

Here’s what I did:

  • Washed and dried the kale leaves in a spinner.
  • Tore the leaves into small, bitesize pieces (removing the tough spine).
  • Drizzled with olive oil, then rubbed the oil over all the leaves to ensure they were well covered.
  • Spread out in a single layer on a lined baking tray, seasoned with salt & pepper.
  • Baked at 180C for 5 – 10min. (Sorry about that wide range – I didn’t actually time it, just kept checking on them. When they started getting the slightest tinge of brown, I whipped them out).

They are very very thin and crispy when cooked. Be prepared to find them as addictive as potato chips! You’ve been warned.

9 comments

  1. I have also recently embraced kale and have some tips for choosing the type of kale for your recipe and storage on my blog – did you know if it starts to wilt you can put it in water for a few hours and it will perk right up? Anyways I love me some kale chips too 🙂 My local CSA farmer recommended that purple curly kale is the best for chips as it has the firmest texture and I have to agree 🙂

    1. Oh thanks Amber, that’s good to know! I haven’t been buying any lately as my local supermarket had some very small, sad looking bunches for $5 the other day. I think I might have to try growing some…..

  2. I’ve never been brave enough to actually try them. They just look so, well, healthy. Do they stand up to (very unhealthy) sauces and dips? I feel like I could go halfway on the healthy factor if I did that 🙂

      1. Aww, crumbly. Well, I’ll still try them out! I guess you could experiment with the dry seasonings you put on before baking (instead of the salt) instead of trying dips?

Leave a Reply

