Lets get figgy!

Figs

FIGS!!!

I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love figs… and what a delight to not only have them in season right now, but also to have friends (2 sets of) who have large trees in their garden and are willing to give away bags and bags of these gorgeous black squishy beauties. I’m in fig heaven!

Coming home from one friend’s house the other day, loaded up with two large bags of figs (I’m estimating about 2.5kg worth) AND spare jars (as I didn’t have any) I was plotting and planning all the goodies I was going to make. Or get TC to make, hehehe.

So, first cab off the rank is fig and red onion chutney. Perfect with cheeses – perfect for us.

I used this recipe from Bay Tree Cottage and, I must say, I’m pretty pleased with the result. TC also seems to be, as there were lots of yumms and mmmmms coming from his side of the table as we shared a cheese board last night.

So what will be cuisiné in my kitchen tomorrow? Well a classic fig jam of course…  One of my friends commented to me yesterday that I’ve become very domesticated now, and with all the jams and chutneys I’ve been making lately, she might be right.

I hope you are also enjoying fig season as much as I am!  Reipe is below…  Figs 2  Caramelising the onions   Figs into the pot  Fig & red onion chutney

 

Fig & Red Onion Chutney

 Ingredients

 ·         850g fresh figs (13)

·         150ml balsamic vinegar

·         100ml red wine vinegar

·         300g soft brown sugar

·         zest and juice of 1 lemon

·         260g red onions (2)

·         2 teaspoons mixed spice

·         10g fresh root ginger or 1 teaspoon of dried ground ginger

·         1 tablespoon of olive oil

 

Method

Peel and thinly slice the red onion, peel and grate the ginger, remove the stalk from the figs and cut them into quarters. Zest and juice the lemon.

Heat the oil in a large pan over a medium heat and then put in the onion. Fry the onion for 5 minutes until it has softened and turned translucent and slightly caramelised.

Add all the other ingredients to the pan except for the figs, then season it with salt & pepper. Bring it up to the boil, then turn down to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes.

Once the liquid has reduced to a syrup add in the figs and cook it for a further 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. 

Pour the chutney into sterilsed jars, put the lids on and allow to cool.

15 comments

  1. I love fresh figs and will definitely be making your chutney. I also like them just cut in galf and eaten with prosciitto. Or topped with some gorgonzola and popped under a broiler until the cheese melts. YUM!

    1. I’ve been eating them for brekky with just fromage blanc (which I think is similar to greek yoghurt) and a drizzle of honey…then in a salad for lunch… then TC will put them in the dinner… hmmm… hope I’m not overdoing them like I did with oats when I was younger – now totally allergic! 😦

      1. Mmmm, I love the idea of them with greek yoghurt and honey. I will be going to the market tomorrow. Thanks! 🙂

      2. wonderful… that is good fuel too, I had that this morning then went out for our Thursday 45km ride (very social and gentle of course)… but the thing is, good fuel! 🙂 Well ok I could have killed for a pain au chocolat but, well, there wasn’t a boulangerie right there (unusual for France) so I suffered… ok? OK??

        😀

      3. Hahaha! And after all that cycling. not fair. No boulangerie? That is odd. Your guardian angel, to be sure. Or a big old meanie with a warped sense of humour 🙂

  2. SO JEALOUS! My little fig tree has been a part of the urban farm almost 1 year now. The birds ate all of the figlets before they were even remotely ready. I pinned the recipe for next year (fingers crossed!) since the tree is growing quickly.

    1. Oh fingers crossed then… one of my friends’ trees is literally down to the ground, as in we walk into the tree space at ground level and pick 2kg of fruit before we even look up!!

Leave a Reply

