A little zing in my day…

TC and I have decided to be ultra healthy for a while as we have put on a little winter “padding” that we’d like to get rid of. I had read recently that half a jacket potato topped with salsa makes a good, low calorie snack. So I thought that I’d like a whole potato with salsa  for lunch (it’s still way too cold for salads in my opinion). Potato and salsa

Not any salsa though – home made salsa. I found a recipe, had a go and voila!

Now I’m hooked. What a tasty salsa it is! I’ve never been all that much of a fan of salsas from jars. I don’t know, to me they’ve always tasted too… something. I’m not sure what… too salty? Too “fake”? Whatever it is, I’ve never really enjoyed them. Well home made is now the way to go. It was very fortunate that my guesstimate at how much chilli to put in (and what type – ie the only type I found) worked out perfectly – I can still feel it gently tingling on my lips.

Parfait!

I literally walked around to the fruit shop this morning & bought some chillis to go with the other ingredients I already had on hand. Here is my salsa if you’d like to try it:

Homemade Salsa

1 tbsp olive oil

1 medium onion, diced

1 medium green capsicum, diced

2 medium green chillis, diced

3 large tomatoes, diced

1 tbsp tomato paste.

Heat oil over medium-high heat and cook onion for about 2 minutes to soften. Add the capsicum and chilli, cook for about 3-4 minutes to soften. Add the tomatoes and tomato paste, stir and bring the mixture up to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes. Cool and enjoy.

This recipe made enough for 4 servings, served on whole jacket potatoes. Homemade salsa 1  Homemade salsa 2  Homemade salsa 3 Homemade salsa final

This is the size of the chillis I used. Two of these kind in the mix was just right for me – lovely and zingy without being overpowering. Of course that is very subjective, I like chillis! Green Chilli

2 comments

  1. This is similar to a recipe using Habanjero (sp?) peppers, onions, red bell peppers: cooked and blended…but this seems edible. My was like eating fire. This looks good.

Leave a Reply

