Sweet crumble of mine…

Apple cherry walnut crumble

Winter means comfort food and what can be more comforting than sweet, cooked fruit topped with an equally sweet & crunchy baked topping? NOTHING!

So I whipped up a quick crumble last night & decided it is now a classic.

I adapted my recipe from this one at River Cottage. However, I halved it and changed a couple of things – I added cherries and left out oatmeal.

Now I don’t think I’m any expert in the kitchen by a long shot so am happy to follow others’ recipes to the letter, but there were good reasons for my changes. First, I just felt like cherries. It started in the supermarket, I had an idea in my head that I wanted cooked fruit, I love berries and red fruits but they are out of season so I found myself drawn to the jars of cherries. You have to follow your instincts on these things.

Secondly, I know oatmeal is a common ingredient in crumbles, and I do like oatmeal, but I’m actually allergic to it. I know, who is allergic to oatmeal right? Its a health food after all! But yes, unfortunately I am allergic so no oatmeal here. And I know I like it because I wasn’t always allergic and I have so many fond memories of porridge, fresh home-made meuslies…. sigh, I think I actually brought the allergy on by eating too much of it as a teenager!

So, on with the recipe if you’re interested. TC pronounced it “yumm” so it will be made again here.

Apple cherry toasted walnut crumble

(Makes 4 large servings, or 6 small)

For the topping:

115g plain flour

pinch of salt

100g butter, cold, cut into cubes

75g sugar

40g ground almonds

For the fruit filling:

3 large granny smith apples, peeled cored, thinly sliced

50g freshly shelled walnuts

1 medium jar de-stoned cherries

30-50g caster sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon

I started by making the crumble topping & setting it aside, simply as I didn’t want the apples to go all brown while I made the topping.

Preheat oven to 180C

Sift flour into a bowl, add salt and butter, rub in until the mixture resembles coarse breadcrumbs (Or do this step in a processor, pulsing). Stir in the sugar and ground almonds. Don’t worry about it being too evenly mixed. Set aside.

Place the shelled walnuts onto a baking sheet and bake for about 5-10min. Set aside to cool, then chop roughly.

Place the sliced apples, walnuts and the cherries into a baking dish, sprinkle over the caster sugar and cinnamon. Mix together thoroughly with your hands then press down firmly into the dish. Sprinkle topping over evenly.

Bake for 40-50min until browning on top. Serve with your choice of cream, custard or ice cream and enjoy!

I had mine with simply with cream crumble & cream

11 comments

  1. Mmmm….please excuse me while I drool all over the keyboard. That looks delicious! Crumbles are just about my favourite pudding (with carrot cake coming in a very close second) so I may just have to try this out.

  2. I love a good crisp or crumble – my go to recipe when there’s too much fruit to consume in a timely manner. Just found your blog and you are only the third person I’ve found using this theme. I love it!

  3. I love crumbles. They are easy to make (for a non-baker like me) and delicious. Will definitely try this one. Love all the ingredients.

    1. I think they are my favourite dessert of all. They combine all the things I love – cooked fruits, sweet pastry-ish-crunchy-nutty stuff AND you get to have cream or custard with it! 😀

    1. Yes, unfortunately I have to be wary of crumbles in restaurants for this reason 😦 But the crumble without it is just as yummy. I actually thought of including some pistachios in the topping for a bit of extra crunch… hmm, that may have to be in my next one!

Leave a Reply

