My year in numbers

January has been a busy and varied month. Not all good though. We had “those” visitors who turned out to be very different travellers than us, enough said. TC and I have both been sick a couple of times each – extremely inconvenient to say the least, especially for two people who don’t often get sick. Enough also said about that.

So while I haven’t been posting, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking. I have some posts up my sleeve about some lovely parts we’ve visited recently and they will be coming soon. In the meantime, and since it is almost the end of the first month of the year, reflected a little on what I did in 2012. This is a summary in numbers of my past year

cycled 3535km

rode a bike over 100 times

completed a 4-day cycling tour

visited 65 different places

lived in 3 houses

had 9 visitors stay with us

boarded 6 international flights

took 6 high-speed intercity trains

took 1 cruise on a ship (not the Costa Concordia, thank goodness)

cooked many cupcakes and gateaux

started 1 blog

…and then there were a few premier evenements (or “firsts” for me):

saw my first ever snowfall

went to a Parisienne’s home for dinner

went to the top of the Eiffel Tower

slept in a troglodyte cave

ate duck gizzard salad and foie gras

became a grandmother (I know, I’m too young, it’s not right is it?)

So that was pretty much my year. This year I aim to keep a better record of the things I do.

12 comments

      1. Okay, that’s better. The thought of having to keep packing up a whole house all the time gives me the chills 🙂

Leave a Reply

