Winter Warmers

Its been colder this week and TC wasn’t well, so I cooked up a batch of hearty, chunky chicken soup.    Chicken Soup

and then went into raptures over a certain Monsieur Maury’s raspberry, pistachio tart. Raspberry pistachio tarte

Ooh lah lah, I think that one is the most delicious he’s made for me yet. Yes, I’m sure he makes them just for me! But anyone going to Marseillan could be lucky enough to find them in his little store.

Pâtisserie: Maury Eric

Adresse : 9 rue Emile Zola, 34340 MARSEILLAN – France
Telephone : 0467772539

Chicken Soup

2 onions (small)

3-5 cloves garlic

1 leek

8-9 small potatoes

3 medium carots

1/2 sweet potato

1 red capsicum

4-6 dates

6 chicken  pieces

1/2 cup frozen peas

1 small tin sweet corn

2 tbsp parsley (dried)

1 tbsp thyme leaves

1 tsp sage leaves (dried)

1/2 tbsp coriander seeds

1/2 tsp curry powder

1 capsule chicken stock concentrate

Sea salt & freshly ground pepper

Heat a glug of olive oil in a large, heavy-based pot over medium-high heat. Add diced onion and garlic, peeled & diced carrots, diced capsicum, sliced leek, scrubbed & diced potato, diced sweet potato & stir to soften. Add the herbs, stock concentrate and about 3-4 cups of water.  Bring to the boil, add the chicken pieces, chopped dates and spices, reduce heat slightly, cover & boil gently for 30min.  Remove chicken pieces, break up & remove bones, returning the meat to the pot, cover & continue boiling for another 30min. During the last 10min, add the frozen peas and sweet corn, season to taste with salt & pepper. Serve with fresh baguette or other crusty bread.

Confessions: the quantities of herbs & spices are really a guess – I tried my best to remember how much I actually threw in at the time. Also the curry powder was a mistake – I love coriander seeds and was looking for the jar of those, I saw a jar of powder with a “C” on the label. Assuming it was ground coriander I sprinkled… and realised it was curry powder, so stopped at just a little (thank goodness – I thought I’d ruined the soup!).

Enjoy!

9 comments

  1. The soup sounds amazing! I make a pretty good one, but not with all your ingredients, like the dates, for example. I am going to try your recipe. Soup is one of my most favourite meals. Don’t even want to talk about those tarts 🙂

Leave a Reply

